Nanyang Technological University


Language of instruction


Nanyang Technological University (NTU) is a research-intensive public university which has topped the rankings of young universities, and places within the Top 100 universities worldwide. NTU’s main campus, located in the west of Singapore, has been named one of the Top 15 Most Beautiful in the World.

Singapore is a vibrantly cosmopolitan and diverse city-state off the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula. Brimming with a harmonious blend of culture, cuisine, arts and architecture, Singapore embodies the finest of both East and West.

Semester dates

UQ Semester Host Semester Dates
Semester 1 Semester 2 (Spring) January–May
Semester 2 Semester 1 (Autumn) August–December

View the NTU academic calendar.

Guides and additional information

NTU has online resources to help get more from your exchange:


NTU has 2 campuses open to exchange students:

  • Main campus
  • Novena campus

Exchange deadlines

22 June for Semester 1 of the following year.

31 October for Semester 2 of the following year.

Student testimonials

Full-time study load

4 courses per semester (based on 3 or 4 Academic Units (AU) per course) at NTU is equivalent to 8 UQ units.

Minimum academic requirements

You will need a minimum cumulative GPA of 5.0 to study at NTU.

Find courses

Search the NTU course catalogue if courses do not appear in the database.

Please refer to the Curriculum Structure for detailed program and course info, and avoid selecting courses from the restricted program and course list

Search the Credit Precedent Database to find courses offered by your host university that have been previously approved for credit at UQ. The database should be used as a general guide only. 

Study areas taught in English

Aerospace engineering
Biological engineering
Chemical engineering
Chemistry and biochemistry
Civil and structural engineering
Communication, digital media and PR
Computer engineering
Computer science
Electrical engineering
English literature
Environmental engineering
Environmental studies
Event, hospitality, hotel and tourism management
Exercise science
Film, TV and media
History and ancient history
Human resources
Information technology
International business
Materials engineering
Mathematics and statistics
Mechanical engineering
Public policy
Software engineering

Exchange deadlines

22 June for Semester 1 of the following year.

31 October for Semester 2 of the following year.


On-campus housing is guaranteed for all inbound undergraduate exchange students. Postgraduate exchange students are invited to apply and will be placed on-campus if there are available rooms. The Office of Housing can also help students search for off-campus accommodation

Cost of living

NTU provides a breakdown of expenses you can expect to encounter on exchange in Singapore, including NTU's administrative fees. 

Financial support

A range of funding for student exchange including scholarships, grants and loans are available to UQ students.  


Students approved to participate in the Student Exchange Program are automatically covered by UQ’s Travel Insurance for the country of their host university only.

For more information, read the Student Travel Insurance Policy Summary on UQ’s Travel Insurance web page (login required).

If you plan to travel outside of your host country, you should purchase additional insurance.

All inbound exchange students are required to pay a Student Health Service Fee, which allows students to benefit from the NTU Student Medical Scheme. Additionally, NTU's Group Hospitalisation & Surgical Insurance Scheme is mandatory for all international students. 

Exchange deadlines

22 June for Semester 1 of the following year.

31 October for Semester 2 of the following year.

Organise your visa

It is your responsibility to ensure you have the correct visa for the country where you will be studying. As the Global Experiences team is not a visa-issuing authority we cannot provide visa advice.

NTU provides visa and immigration information for incoming exchange students.

Contact the Singapore Immigration and Checkpoints Authority for more visa information.

Travel risk levels

The University of Queensland cannot and does not allow UQ Abroad students to travel to any country with a risk level of 3 (Reconsider your need to travel) or above, as assessed by the Australian Government.

If a country's risk level changes to 3 or above, UQ Abroad programs to that country are suspended until the risk level improves.

Find out the risk level and travel advice for your host country on the Smartraveller website.

Register your travel plans

We recommend that you register your travel plans on the Smartraveller website so that the Australian Government can contact you or your family in an emergency.

Non-Australian citizens should register with their closest consulate.

Exchange deadlines

22 June for Semester 1 of the following year.

31 October for Semester 2 of the following year.