The Asian Exchange Scholarship can give you the opportunity to spend a semester studying at a leading Asian university.

The Westpac Bicentennial Foundation Asian Exchange Scholarship was established in 2014 as a gift to future generations of Australians to commemorate Westpac’s 200th anniversary in 2017. 

Eligible institutions

People’s Republic of China

  • Tsinghua University
  • Peking University
  • Fudan University
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Hong Kong

  • University of Hong Kong
  • Chinese University of Hong Kong


  • National University of Singapore
  • Nanyang Technological University

Eligible students

The Westpac Bicentennial Foundation welcome applications from any student regardless of degree or faculty of study.

To be eligible for the Asian Exchange Scholarship, applicants must be:

  • an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • enrolled in 2nd year or beyond at a participating university
  • intending to do a semester-long exchange.